Muted
    LIVE
    FOLGT ALS NÄCHSTES
    Abbrechen
    arrow SPRACHE: AUS

    Big Sonia

    Big Sonia erzählt die Lebensgeschichte von Sonia Warshawski – von ihrer Gefangenschaft in Nazi-Todeslagern bis hin zu ihrem Leben als Urgroßmutter und Kleinunternehmerin in Kansas City. Ihre Geschichten, wie sie den Holocaust überlebte, wurden zu einer überraschenden Quelle der Inspiration für eine neue Generation.

    ÜBER DIE FILMEMACHER

    Leah Warshawski

    Leah Warshawski produziert und führt Regie bei Dokumentarfilmen, Fernsehspots und Markeninhalten in entlegenen Gebieten der Welt. Ihr erster Film, Finding Hillywood (2013), gewann 6 Auszeichnungen, einschließlich dem Kritikerpreis (Sebastopol Doc Festival) und den Publikumspreis (Napa Valley Film Festival) – und wurde bei mehr als 65 Festivals vorgeführt.

    Todd Soliday

    Todd Soliday ist ein Regisseur, Kameramann und Cutter mit mehr als 25 Jahren Erfahrung bei der Produktion und Postproduktion. Er hat sich auf Dokumentationen und Abenteuerfilme wie Platinum (2007) spezialisiert. Als Supervisor für Postproduktion für Finding Hillywood war Todd für die Grafik und Musikbearbeitung zuständig. Neue Projekte im Bereich von Dokumentationen umfassen Out of Luck (2015) und The Breach (2014).

    ÜBERSICHT DES FILMS

    Unter gemeinsamer Regie von den unabhängigen Filmemachern Leah Warshawski und Todd Soliday folgt Big Sonia der 91-jährigen Holocaustüberlebenden Sonia Warshawski, als sie einen Räumungsbescheid für die ikonische Schneiderei erhält, die sie seit über 30 Jahren besessen und betrieben hat.

    Mehr

    Angesichts der quälenden Entscheidung, ob sie weitermachen oder in Rente gehen soll, tritt ihr lebenslanger Kampf mit ihren Erinnerungen in den Vordergrund. Sie gesteht, dass sie es vorzieht, beschäftigt zu bleiben, „um die dunklen Bereiche fern zu halten“. Aber genau diese traumatischen Erinnerungen aus ihrer Jugend verwandelt sie als populäre Motivationssprecherin in nutzbare und erleuchtende Philosophien. Die Dokumentarfilmerin und Enkelin vom Thema des Films, Leah Warshawski, nimmt ihre Großmutter, Sonia, auf, während sie eine starke Botschaft der Hoffnung in Schulen, Kirchen und sogar Gefängnissen vermittelt, die Zuhörer aller Altersklassen und Hintergründe beeinflusst.

    Läuft:
    Läuft JETZT
    Läuft:
    -
    TAGEN
    :
    -
    STUNDEN
    :
    -
    MIN
    :
    -
    SEK
    Wiederholung
    Verfügbare Plattformen
    Läuft in - Tagen Tag Läuft in Läuft heute Abend
    -
    TAGEN
    :
    -
    STUNDEN
    :
    -
    MIN
    :
    -
    SEK
    Angezeigte Zeit:

    INFO ZUM FILM

    Titel: Big Sonia
    Spieldauer: 90 Minuten
    Regie: Leah Warshawski
    Offizielle Website des Films: BigSonia.com
    Offizielle soziale Kanäle:

    AWARDS

Muted
    LIVE
    UP NEXT
    Cancel
    YOU ARE WATCHING IN:
    arrow LANGUAGE: OFF
    YOU ARE WATCHING IN:
    Big Sonia

    Big Sonia

    Big Sonia tells the life story of Sonia Warshawski—from her detention in Nazi death camps to her life as a great-grandmother and small business owner in Kansas City. Her stories of how she survived the Holocaust have become a surprising source of inspiration for a new generation.

    ABOUT THE FILMMAKERS

    Leah Warshawski

    Leah Warshawski produces and directs documentary features, television commercials and branded entertainment in remote parts of the world. Her first feature, Finding Hillywood (2013), won 6 awards—including the Critics’ Award (Sebastopol Doc Festival) and the Audience Award (Napa Valley Film Festival)—and screened at more than 65 festivals.

    Todd Soliday

    Todd Soliday is a director, DP and editor with more than 25 years of experience in production and post-production. He specializes in documentary storytelling and adventure films such as Platinum (2007). As post-production supervisor for Finding Hillywood, Todd was in charge of graphics and music editing. Recent documentary projects include Out of Luck (2015) and The Breach (2014).

    FILM SYNOPSIS

    Co-directed by Independent filmmakers Leah Warshawski and Todd Soliday, Big Sonia follows 91-year-old Holocaust survivor Sonia Warshawski as she’s served an eviction notice for the iconic tailor shop she’s owned and operated for over 30 years.

    More

    Faced with an agonizing decision of whether to carry on anew or retire, her lifelong struggle with her memories comes to the fore as she admits to preferring to stay busy “to keep the dark parts away.” But it’s those same traumatic memories of her youth that she transforms into actionable and enlightening philosophies, becoming a popular motivational speaker. The documentarian and granddaughter of the film’s subject, Leah Warshawski, captures her grandmother, Sonia, as she delivers a powerful message of hope in schools, churches and even prisons, impacting audiences of all ages and backgrounds.

    Premiere date:
    Airing NOW
    West Coast Premiere
    -
    DAYS
    :
    -
    HOURS
    :
    -
    MINS
    :
    -
    SECS
    Encore replay
    Where to watch
    Premiering in - days day Premiering in Premiering tonight
    -
    DAYS
    :
    -
    HOURS
    :
    -
    MINS
    :
    -
    SECS
    Day / Time shown in:

    FILM INFO

    Title: Big Sonia
    Film length: 90 minutes
    Directed by: Leah Warshawski
    Official film website: BigSonia.com
    Official social profiles:

    AWARDS

    MORE FROM THE DOCUMENTARY SHOWCASE

    ABOUT THE DOCUMENTARY SHOWCASE

    Welcome to the Scientology Network Documentary Showcase

    Fundamental to Scientology is a humanitarian mission of extraordinary scope, now extending to some 200 nations. Included therein are programs for human rights, human decency, literacy, morality, drug prevention and disaster relief.

    For this reason, the Scientology Network provides a platform for Independent filmmakers who embrace a vision of building a better world.

    Submit a
    Film or Documentary

    The Scientology Network is accepting submissions of films and documentaries.