Muted
    LIVE
    FOLGT ALS NÄCHSTES
    Abbrechen
    arrow SPRACHE: AUS

    Breaking Through the Clouds

    Breaking Through the Clouds erzählt die Geschichte von 20 Frauen in Vorreiterrollen, die 1929 am ersten Nationalen Damen-Flieger-Derby teilnahmen. Aber das Rennen, das als Versuch angesehen wurde, Geschlechterstereotypen in Frage zu stellen, war voller Kontroversen, Tragödien und Sabotagen.

    ÜBER DEN FILMEMACHER

    Heather A. Taylor

    Heather Taylor ist die Autorin, Produzentin, Regisseurin und Rechercheurin vom preisgekrönten Breaking Through the Clouds. Heather ist die wichtigste Autorität in Bezug auf das erste Nationale Damen-Flieger-Derby und auch eine Empfängerin des angesehenen Combs Gates Awards der National Aviation Hall of Fame.

    ÜBERSICHT DES FILMS

    Amelia Earhart und 19 andere Frauen missachteten Konventionen, indem sie 1929 durch die Lüfte rasten, um am ersten Nationalen Damen-Flieger-Derby gegeneinander anzutreten. Mit nur einem Kompass und einer Straßenkarte navigierten sie durch schlechtes Wetter, mechanisches Versagen, den prüfenden Blick der Öffentlichkeit und Gerüchten von Sabotage. Diese Pilotinnen forderten Klischees heraus – tagsüber trugen sie Kniehosen und Brillen und abends Ballkleider –, indem sie zeigten, dass Frauen unabhängig, konkurrenzfähig, selbstständig, intelligent, elegant und vor allem wirklich gute Piloten sein können.

    Mehr

    Breaking Through the Clouds zeigt Originalaufnahmen von dem Luftrennen von 1929, Nachbildungen unter Verwendung von Flugzeugen wie jene, die die Frauen in dem Derby flogen, Interviews mit den legendären Pilotinnen Elinor Smith und Patty Wagstaff sowie Angehörige der Pilotinnen und Luftfahrtexperten.

    Zwanzig Frauen zogen Kniehosen an, setzten Brillen auf und stiegen in ihre Cockpits, um an einem Rennen durch ganz Amerika teilzunehmen.
    Läuft:
    Läuft JETZT
    Läuft:
    -
    TAGEN
    :
    -
    STUNDEN
    :
    -
    MIN
    :
    -
    SEK
    Wiederholung
    Verfügbare Plattformen
    Läuft in - Tagen Tag Läuft in Läuft heute Abend
    -
    TAGEN
    :
    -
    STUNDEN
    :
    -
    MIN
    :
    -
    SEK
    Angezeigte Zeit:

    INFO ZUM FILM

    Titel: Breaking Through the Clouds
    Spieldauer: 90 Minuten
    Regie: Heather A. Taylor
    Produzent: Heather A. Taylor
    Offizielle Website des Films: BreakingThroughTheClouds.com
    Offizielle soziale Kanäle:

    AWARDS

Breaking Through the Clouds
YOU ARE WATCHING IN:
arrow LANGUAGE: OFF
YOU ARE WATCHING IN:

Breaking Through the Clouds

Breaking Through the Clouds tells the story of 20 pioneering women who in 1929 competed in the First Women’s National Air Derby. But the race, seen as an attempt to challenge gender stereotypes, was fraught with controversy, tragedy and sabotage.

ABOUT THE FILMMAKER

Heather A. Taylor

Heather Taylor is the writer, producer, director and researcher of the award-winning Breaking Through the Clouds. Heather is the foremost authority on the First Women’s National Air Derby and also a recipient of the prestigious Combs Gates Award from the National Aviation Hall of Fame.

FILM SYNOPSIS

Amelia Earhart and 19 other women defied convention by racing across the sky in 1929 to compete in the first women’s national air derby. With just a compass and road map to guide them, they navigated through rough weather, mechanical failures, public scrutiny and rumors of sabotage. Wearing breeches and goggles during the day and ball gowns in the evening, these aviators challenged stereotypes by proving women could be independent, competitive, self-sufficient, intelligent, graceful and above all, really good pilots.

More

Breaking Through the Clouds shows actual footage from the 1929 air race, aerial recreations using planes like the women flew in the derby, interviews with legendary pilots Elinor Smith and Patty Wagstaff as well as family members of the pilots and aviation experts.

Twenty women pulled on britches, snapped on goggles, and climbed into their cockpits to race across America.
Airing:
Airing NOW
Airing:
-
DAYS
:
-
HOURS
:
-
MINS
:
-
SECS
Encore replay
Where to watch
Airing in - days day Airs tonight
-
DAYS
:
-
HOURS
:
-
MINS
:
-
SECS
Day / Time shown in:

FILM INFO

Title: Breaking Through the Clouds
Film length: 90 minutes
Directed by: Heather A. Taylor
Produced by: Heather A. Taylor
Official film website: BreakingThroughTheClouds.com
Official social profiles:

AWARDS

MORE FROM THE DOCUMENTARY SHOWCASE

ABOUT THE DOCUMENTARY SHOWCASE

Welcome to the Scientology Network Documentary Showcase

Fundamental to Scientology is a humanitarian mission of extraordinary scope, now extending to some 200 nations. Included therein are programs for human rights, human decency, literacy, morality, drug prevention and disaster relief.

For this reason, the Scientology Network provides a platform for Independent filmmakers who embrace a vision of building a better world.

Submit a
Film or Documentary

The Scientology Network is accepting submissions of films and documentaries.